My Boomerang Won’t Come Back

bomm.jpgcainglaj.jpg

My boomerang won’t come back – I threw it into the air – and it disappeared over the horizon and took a wrong turn. I don’t know where my boomerang went – it cut through the clouds, skimming the tops of the trees and flew into outer space. My boomerang span around raindrops, splashed into a puddle and floated downstream with the other twigs and dead leaves. My boomerang got caught up in river rapids … and was beached by the side of the river in an otter’s nest … my boomerang was a nice, tasty lunch for a baby crocodile who chewed his way through the splintered wood … and almost lost a tooth. The paint chipped and the edges were nibbled at … this time, my boomerang did come back – but only just – it was hardly in the same condition as it left my right hand. My boomerang won’t come back – I threw it into the road and it was squashed by a truck. The dustbin man cleaned up the bits and pieces, and threw it into a waste paper bin. The dust blew away on a breeze. My boomerang won’t come back – it was cut into tiny chunks in the paper recycling mill. My boomerang won’t come back – it took a long haul flight to Australia, had a holiday and got lost in the outback. The map was ripped and it couldn’t find it’s way home again. My boomerang won’t come back – it disappeared into thin air … was majicked away … now I am sure I’ll never see my boomerang ever again.

bomm.jpg Telephone Ringing Spelling


Can you see where the telephone rings inside these words ? Add either RING or RANG to make a new word. Example – B + RING = BRING (BRANG isn’t a word)

ASPI + _ _ _ _ =

_ _ _ _ + ER =

AIR + _ _ _ _ =

EA + _ _ _ _ =

O + _ _ _ _ + E =

SHA + _ _ _ _ =

CA + _ _ _ _ =

ST + _ _ _ _ =

_ _ _ _ + E =

STA + _ _ _ _ =

bomm.jpg 

Write ten sentences using the word “rang”.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

Answers : aspiring ; ranger ; airing ; earing ; orange ; sharing ; caring ; string ; range ; staring

Leave a Reply

