In’jun Joe and the Pioneer Mouse In The New Found Land

cainglaj.jpgcainglaj.jpgcainglaj.jpg

In’jun Joe met a pioneering mouse,

Who said did he know the best place to build a house ?

In’jun Joe then showed him a map,

Moaning that he’d woken him from his nap.

The mouse, of course, wanted a hole,

Where he could hibernate just like a mole.

The pioneering mouse first tried a keyhole,

But it was too small and he couldn’t roll.

In’jun Joe suggested that a log cabin,

Would be a better place to build a house,

To gab in …

The pioneering mouse doubted it very much,

Thinking that it would be too big to climb to the roof, as such.

Did he think he’d suddenly become a millionaire in a gold rush ?

So In’jun Joe said that outside there was a cheap, leafy bush.

In’jun Joe showed the mouse a drainpipe,

Which the pioneer did like considerably,

Although it was a little tight.

And when he made it halfway down that night,

It seemed someone had turned off the light.

In’jun Joe offered to show the pioneer,

Where to find tasty buffalo steak …

And a bottle of beer.

That was the type of pioneering he liked to do,

Finding new tasty things to eat, in a salt and pepper stew.

cainglaj.jpg

Pioneer and the Steer

Put the “pi” or “pie” in these pioneering mouse words and phrases.

bread2.jpg__ __ caroon

bread2.jpg__ __ azza

bread2.jpg__ __ pe

drain bread2.jpg __ __ pe

bread2.jpg __ __ tter

bread2.jpg __ __ es

bread2.jpg __ __ ctorial

bread2.jpg __ __ ece

bread2.jpg __ __ edmont

bread2.jpg __ __ cture

bread2.jpg __ __ g

bread2.jpg __ __ ffle

bread2.jpg __ __ ne

bread2.jpg __ __ geon

bread2.jpg __ __ ll

bread2.jpg __ __ ns and needles

hair bread2.jpg __ __ n

bread2.jpg __ __ cturesque

bread2.jpg __ __ erce

bread2.jpg __ __ ckle

bread2.jpg __ __ cnic

bread2.jpg __ __ ctograph

bread2.jpg __ __ cket

bread2.jpg __ __ zza

bread2.jpg __ __ anoforte

bread2.jpg __ __ callilli

bread2.jpg __ __ le

bread2.jpg __ __ llar

cater bread2.jpg __ __ llar

cainglaj.jpg

The Pioneering Mouse’s Mousehole

“Whole” or “hole” which is the correct word to use ?

1. I put the key in the key________ .

2. There was a ________ in my pocket so I lost my money.

3. We ate toad in the ________ last night for tea.

4. He picked ________ s in everything that I said.

5. I cannot eat the ________ pie – just a slice.

6. I prefer the taste of ________ meal bread.

7. It has a ________ some look.

8. I ________ ly agree.

9. I promise that I shall tell the ________ truth.

10. ________ hearted support for something.

11. On the ________ , I prefer sugar in tea.

12. I bought a pack of twelve ________ sale.

13. The ________ class laughed.

14. The ________ audience clapped.

15. I drove the ________ of the road.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

 Answers : picaroon ; piazza ; pipe ; drainpipe ; pitter ; pies ; pictorial ; piece ; piedmont ; picture ; pig ; piffle ; pine ; pigeon ; pill ; pins and needles ; hair pin ; picturesque ; pierce ; pickle ; picnic ; pictograph picket ; pizza ; pianoforte ; picallilli ; pile ; pillar ; caterpillar

Answers :

1. I put the key in the keyhole.

2. There was a hole in my pocket so I lost my money.

3. We ate toad in the hole last night for tea.

4. He picked holes in everything that I said.

5. I cannot eat the whole pie – just a slice.

6. I prefer the taste of wholemeal bread.

7. It has a wholesome look.

8. I wholly agree.

9. I promise that I shall tell the whole truth.

10. Wholehearted support for something.

11. On the whole, I prefer sugar in tea.

12. I bought a pack of twelve wholesale.

13. The whole class laughed.

14. The whole audience clapped.

15. I drove the whole of the road.

