The Never Ending English Game

dance.jpg 

The End To End N To N Game

Circle the double N inside these words :

stunning

 

funny

runny

sunny

tinned

pinned

running

winning

thinning

sinning

stunning

tanning

planning

stunned

fanned

connection

grinned

dance.jpgHow many words can you think of containing two separate letter “n”‘s ? Example – transmission, rendition.

dance.jpg

How many words can you think of that begin and end with the letter “n” ? Example – noun, nutrition.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

dance.jpg

 

 

Ever and Never Endings

 

 

Which is the corect one to use – ever or never ?

1. The _________ ready battery lasted only one hour.

2. _________theless, the speaker disagreed with the politician.

3. It had _________ rained like this before.

4. The _________glade trees were green all year round.

5. He was _________ so unhappy at work.

6. The dog was _________ so noisy last night.

7. I brush my teeth ________y day.

8. _________ybody was dancing to the music.

9. _________where I go, I am followed by photographers.

10. _________y now and then, the Sun comes out.

11. I have an _________ annoying toothache.

12. He was so polite – _________y bit of a gentleman.

13. I will love my husband for_________.

14. _________ything doesn’t work.

15. _________y so often, I get the shivers.

 dance.jpg

At A Loose End Endings

Which of these words should end in us, ous and oose ?

g_________

unconsc_________

l_________ning

conscient_________

cact_________

ambit_________

sedit_________

continu_________

delic__________

b_________

strenu_________

contemporan_________

ceremon_________

consc_________

monstr_________

continu_________

prec_________

thromb_________

oner_________

amor_________

traitor_________

judic_________

scandal_________

aqu_________

cact _________

dance.jpg

The End

B * * *

M * * *

T * * *

MONEY – L * * * ER

TR * * *

B * * * Y

S * * *

L * * * F * * *

Answers :

1. The ever ready battery lasted only one hour.

2. Nevertheless, the speaker disagreed with the politician.

3. It had never rained like this before.

4. The everglade trees were green all year round.

5. He was ever so unhappy at work.

6. The dog was ever so noisy last night.

7. I brush my teeth every day.

8. Everybody was dancing to the music.

9. Everywhere I go, I am followed by photographers.

10. Every now and then, the Sun comes out.

11. I have an ever annoying toothache.

12. He was so polite – every bit of a gentleman.

13. I will love my husband forever.

14. Everything doesn’t work.

15. Every so often, I get the shivers.

Answers : goose; unconscious; loosening; conscientious; cactus; ambitious; seditious; continuous; delicious; bus; strenuous; contemporaneous; ceremonious; conscious; monstrous; continuous; precious; thrombus; onerous; amorous; traitorous; judicious; scandalous; aqueous; cactus

Answers : bend; mend; tend; money – lender; trend; bendy; send; lend; fend

