The Penguin From Penzance

penguin3.jpg

The penguin from Penzance, danced a funny dance. And if , by chance a jellyfish passed, wobbling his way to France, he too, joined in the dance. Every time that he heard a wave “CRASH !”, he got up and jigged as quick as a flash. It didn’t much matter if he didn’t know the words, he flapped his wings like the other seagull birds. The clams and mussels all joined in too, flappin’ their wings as penguins do. The penguin from Penzance, knocked down a sandcastle in his prance. You never seen such a rockin’ flock, as when the penguins started to dance to rock. The penguin was voted the best dancer in the whole of Cornwall, although some said his trips were more of a fall.

penguin3.jpg Penguin In A Flap Game

Add one of the A – P words into these sentences where the penguin has pecked it away.

SAP … SNAPPED … WRAP … CLAPPED … STRAP … LAPPED … WRAPPED … BAP … FLAP … HAPPENED … CHAP … TAP … NAP … APPLE … TRAP …SLAPPED … SCRAP … MAPLE

penguin3.jpg 1. The sun dried up all the flower’s __________.

penguin3.jpg 2. The ruler __________ in class.

penguin3.jpg 3. I wear a warm __________ in Winter.

penguin3.jpg 4. The audience __________ . penguin3.jpg 5. I fixed the __________. penguin3.jpg 6. The kitten __________ up the milk.

penguin3.jpg 7. The Christmas presents are already __________ .

penguin3.jpg 8. I ate a __________ for lunch.

penguin3.jpg 9. I got in a real __________.

penguin3.jpg 10. I __________ to be on the same bus as my friend.

penguin3.jpg 11. He is a nice __________.

penguin3.jpg 12. The hot water __________ isn’t working.

penguin3.jpg 13. I was taking a __________.

penguin3.jpg 14. I ate an __________ for lunch.

penguin3.jpg 15. The mouse __________ caught three mice yesterday.

penguin3.jpg 16. The horse __________ me with his tail.

penguin3.jpg 17. I wrote his name on a piece of __________ paper.

penguin3.jpg 18. The __________ tree leaves fell all over the garden.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

Answers : 1. The sun dried up all the flower’s SAP.

2. The ruler SNAPPED in class.

3. I wear a warm WRAP in Winter.

4. The audience CLAPPED.

5. I fixed the STRAP.

6. The kitten LAPPED up the milk. 7. The Christmas presents are already WRAPPED. 8. I ate a BAP for lunch.

9. I got in a real FLAP.

10. I HAPPENED to be on the same bus as my friend.

11. He is a nice CHAP.

12. The hot water TAP isn’t working.

13. I was taking a NAP.

14. I ate an APPLE for lunch.

15. The mouse TRAP caught three mice yesterday.

16. The horse SLAPPED me with his tail.

17. I wrote his name on a piece of SCRAP paper.

18. The MAPLE tree leaves fell all over the garden.

