I Knew A Gnu

buffalo2.jpg

I knew a gnu, who knew a few gnus, too. When nobody knew what to do, It was the gnu who showed them how to. I didn’t know the gnu by name, But I knew he was a gnu, all the same. He gnu this and gnu that. Even though he didn’t know, he gnu what he knew from the gnat. The gnu’s problems grew and grew. When from the engine, off flew a screw. The gnu tried to fix it back, but off another two flew (they were slack !).

buffalo2.jpg

A Knobbly Knees Look At Silent Letters

Add the silent sounds – PH, GN, KN or GH. Which is the correct one to use ?

si__ __

__ __ ee

sul__ __ ar

__ __ obble

si__ __ post

__ __ onetic

__ __ uckle

tele__ __ one

desi__ __ er

si__ __ ature

__ __ otted

resi__ __ ation

thi__ __

si__ __

__ __ ow

well – __ __ own

__ __ ew

si__ __ language

desi__ __ ed

hi__ __ er

buffalo2.jpg

A New Look At “New”

How many words, places or phrases can you think of that include the word “new” ? Example – New Zealand.

buffalo2.jpg

Knew or new ? which is the correct one to use ?

1. I _____ him as a boy.

 

2. I bought a _____ coat.

 

3. I _____ the party was on Saturday, but I still arrived late.

 

4. I _____ what to do.

 

5. I threw away an old _____spaper and bought a _____ one.  

 

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

Answers : sign ; knee ; sulphar ; knobble ; signpost ; phonetic ; knuckle ; telephone ; designer ; signature ; knotted ; resignation ; thigh ; sigh ; know ; well – known ; knew ; sign language ; designed ; higher

Answers :

1. I knew him as a boy.

2. I bought a new coat.

3. I knew the party was on Saturday, but I still arrived late.

4. I knew what to do.

5. I threw away an old newspaper and bought a new one.  

