The Pair of Pears In Jack’s Beanstalk

p.jpg

The pair of pears in Jack’s beanstalk, wobbled in the wind. Whenever a breeze started to blow, they almost landed in the bin !

Pear, peer, pare or pair – which is the right word to use ?

p.jpg 1. I bought a _____ of shoes.

p.jpg 2. The shopkeeper only sold ties in _____ s.

p.jpg 3. The _____ tasted sweet.

p.jpg 4. There were twenty _____ s growing on the tree in the orchard.

p.jpg 5. The _____ of birds built a nest.

p.jpg 6. The re_____ bill for the car cost £100.

p.jpg 7. The s_____ tyre burst.

p.jpg 8. He only felt des_____ .

p.jpg 9. The sailor _____ ed at the map.

p.jpg 10. The dancers waltzed in _____ s.

p.jpg 11. The _____ of earings cost £5.00.

p.jpg 12. The medieval knight threw a s _____ .

p.jpg 13. The mint tasted of s _____ mint.

p.jpg 14. I com _____ d the two pictures.

p.jpg 15. The squirrel _____ ed through the hole, looking for acorns.

p.jpg 16. I _____ ed down the telescope, but still didn’t see anything.

p.jpg 17. The _____ of slippers I got for Christmas didn’t fit.

p.jpg 18. The window cleaner _____ ed through the window.

p.jpg 19. The I re _____ ed the tear in my trousers with a needle and thread.

p.jpg 20. I knocked into stack of _____ s in the supermarket.

p.jpg

How many words can you think of that include the word “pair” (example – repair) and “pear” (example – spear) ?  

© Jacqueline Richards 2005

Answers1. I bought a pair of shoes.

2. The shopkeeper only sold ties in pairs.

3. The pear tasted sweet.

4. There were twenty pears growing on the tree in the orchard.

5. The pair of birds built a nest.

6. The repair bill for the car cost £100.

7. The spare tyre burst.

8. He only felt despair.

9. The sailor peered at the map.

10. The dancers waltzed in pairs.

11. The pair of earrings cost £5.00. 12. The medieval knight threw a spear.

13. The mint tasted of spearmint.

14. I compared the two pictures.

15. The squirrel peered through the hole, looking for acorns.

16. I peered down the telescope, but still didn’t see anything.

17. The pair of slippers I got for Christmas didn’t fit.

18. The window cleaner peered through the window.

19. The I repaired the tear in my trousers with a needle and thread.

20. I knocked into stack of pears in the supermarket.

