Penelope Pig’s Best Ham C – ham – pionship

pig6.jpg

Penelope Pig entered a competition one day, hoping she would win. She bought a raffle ticket and put it in a bin. The prizes were, of course, very varied indeed. there were talcs and perfumes – but Penelope Pig wanted something on which she could feed. Not a box of chocolates, oh ! no – Penelope Pig wanted the ham that had been the winner in the butcher’s best ham show. She dug in deep and pulled out a ticket – though of course, with trotters, it was very hard to pick it ! Yes ! Success ! The best ham yet ! With tasty mustard she’d be eating it soon, for tea, I bet.

pig6.jpg

W – ham !

How many words can you think of that have a tasty “ham” hidden inside from Penelope Pig ?

pig6.jpg

The Ham That Was A Winner For Penelope Pig

How many words can you think of that Penelope Pig hoped to “win” ? Example – winner, winter.

pig6.jpg

The Ham That Was Won By Penelope Pig

How many words can you think of that were “won” by Penelope Pig ? Example – woman, wonder.

pig6.jpg

A Wonderful Win

Won or win – which is the correct word to use ? 1. I entered the competition, hoping that I would _____.2. I _____ three gold medals in the swimming competition.3. I was _____dering if you would like to come for tea ?

4. I was amazed – and stared in _____derment.

5. This _____ter is the coldest that has ever been.

6. The _____ner of the trophy was a horse that no – one had heard of before.

7. The gold necklace was stolen by a s _____ dler.

8. The t _____s were born two minutes apart.

9. Westmor’s t _____ – city is in Belgium.

10. The snake twisted around the t _____ e in Jack’s beanstalk.

11. I felt a t _____ ge of pain.

12. I slept in one of two t _____ beds.

13. Who _____ ?

14. I have never _____ a raffle in my entire life.

15. He was having a really good moan – a good _____ ge.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007Answers :1. I entered the competition, hoping that I would win.2. I won three gold medals in the swimming competition.3. I was wondering if you would like to come for tea ?4. I was amazed – and stared in wonderment.

5. This Winter is the coldest that has ever been.

6. The winner of the trophy was a horse that no – one had heard of before.

7. The gold necklace was stolen by a swindler.

8. The twins were born two minutes apart.

9. Westmor’s twin – city is in Belgium.

10. The snake twisted around the twine in Jack’s beanstalk.

11. I felt a twinge of pain.

12. I slept in one of two twin beds.

13. Who won ?

14. I have never won a raffle in my entire life.

15. He was having a really good moan – a good winge.

