When In Rome & The Roman Urn

sword.jpg

When he was in Rome, Glad the Roman Gladiator wanted to get quite a few things done – he was so busy chatting to Atilla the Hun, that the day was soon completely gone ! First, he wanted to meet with his old friend, Ann the Ancient Anglo – Saxon so perhaps they could arrange to do something great – perhaps discover something or build an ampitheatre with tracks on. Glad the Roman Gladiator asked Knight Goodnight to also come along … but he broke the door, when he came in, because he was so strong. Fredred and Ethelred the Vikings joined in, too. They brought along one or two gold coins and helped Glad the Roman Gladiator buy a new pair of shoes.

sword.jpg

Add the letters U – R – N to complete the words. Then write ten more words containing a Roman urn.

turn

 

burn

 

furnace

 

churn

 

burned

sword.jpg

Earn A Prize

urn, ern or earn ? which is the correct one to use in the words inside these sentences ?

1. I went to college to l ____ how to be a plumber.

2. I ____ £50 per week.

3. I t ____ ed over a new leaf.

4. I b ____ t my finger on the f ____ ace in the foundry.

5. My stomach ch ____ ed.

6. I y ____ for a holiday.

7. The Professor looked at me with a st ____ face.

8. I watched a West ____ movie last night.

9. I drove down the East ____ highway.

10. The mod ____ gallery was only built 3 years ago.

© Jacqueline Richards 2007

Answers :

1. I went to college to learn how to be a plumber.

2. I earn £50 per week. 3. I turned over a new leaf.4. I burnt my finger on the furnace in the foundry.

5. My stomach churned.

6. I yearn for a holiday.

7. The Professor looked at me with a stern face.

8. I watched a Western movie last night.

9. I drove down the Eastern highway.

10. The modern gallery was only built 3 years ago.

