The Hippodrome Hippopotamus Dance

hippopot.jpg

Because the hippopotamus has four feet,

His dance has the most amazing beat.

When he performs in the hippodrome,

Half of the crowd go flying home !

The hippopotamus dance is a sight to see,

There are four steps forwards,

Then back, one, two, three !

To learn to dance like a hippopotamus is an absolute must !

You spin through the air and kick up clouds of dust.

The hippopotamus makes such a fuss,

When he dances, he knocks over a bus !

You’ve never seen such a lot of huffing,

As when the hippopotamus begins his puffing.

When the hippopotamus bends over backwards,

Chuckle Buckle’s circus tent, collapses inwards.

When one time, the hippopotamus stomped his foot –

He put in the circus tent such a big hole,

That the circus had to be shut !

hippopot.jpg

The Quickstep Game

This O is a hippopotamus footstep. Draw a line between each footprint, then from North, work out the angles that the hippopotamus’s dance takes.

 

O O

N

^

I

I

I

I

I

I

I

2

 

3

4

1

5

6

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

