Miss Knobbly Knees

prof.jpg

Add either “ne”, “nee” or “nea” to complete the words below – which is the correct one to use ?

1. I _____ d a drink.

2. He proposed on bended k _____.

3. She k _____ ded the dough to make bread.

4. The train was coming _____r.

5. _____politan ice – cream is my favourite.

6. I stitched the hole in my coat with a _____dle and thread.

7. I stung my finger on a _____ttle.

8. My _____xt door neighbour is very friendly.

9. I _____ver go out on Tuesdays.

10. My _____w baby brother weighed 7 lbs when born.

11. It that _____cessary ?

12. He _____glected his duties.

______________________________________________________________________________________ a) What does the prefix “neo” mean ?

b) How many words can the prefix “neo” be added to make a new word with another meaning ?

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

Answrs :

1. I need a drink.

 

2. He proposed on bended knee.

3. She kneaded the dough to make bread.

4. The train was coming near.

5. Neapolitan ice – cream is my favourite.

6. I stitched the hole in my coat with a needle and thread.

7. I stung my finger on a nettle.

8. My next door neighbour is very friendly.

9. I never go out on Tuesdays.

10. My new baby brother weighed 7 lbs when born.

11. It that necessary ?

12. He neglected his duties.

